The Hero’s Journey of Arnaud Faure Beaulieu

What is the thing that I love most about my work?

With NO MAD GALERIE (www.nomadgalerie.com) the work I do touches on pretty much everything, all the exhibitions are different, and each one demands a uniquely specific preparation. Since I work alone, my responsibilities range from selecting artists I want to show, organizing the exhibitions, communicating with press outlets, collectors and the public… I especially enjoy my contact with the artists, selecting the artworks with them, crafting the press releases, preparing the exhibitions and welcoming visitors when everything is set.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

A sunny beach in southwest of France with nice little waves for surfing. All this with my family and best friends around me.

What is my greatest fear?

Something bad happening to people I love

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I’m easily distracted.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

Gallery owner Ron Mandos from Amsterdam, with whom I have often collaborated, and still continue to do so. His gallery and selection of artists is at such a high level. He is a consummate professional: from the organisation of an exhibition to what people see at the gallery, nothing is done randomly. He works non-stop and, to me, he is one of the best.

In Paris, Jérôme Pauchant whose gallery is next to mine: I like the artists he represents, his personality and cool attitude mixed with flawless professionalism.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I don’t see myself as an extravagant person. What I do is normal to me, but it may seem odd to some to see me come to the gallery on my skateboard, I don’t know.

On what occasion would I lie?

I can’t really lie, but I’ve been guilty of white lies or small sins of omission, especially if someone’s feelings are at stake.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Probably having to keep the PR switch on after a long day’s work.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Each time I see that my exhibitions are successful: a crowded gallery at the opening, positive feedback about the artworks and the exhibition, some sales and, of course, a happy artist.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Nobody’s perfect. I accept myself with my flaws… and inasmuch as possible I try to fix them.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Doing what I do seriously and professionally with very little money and no independent fortune to back me for more than three years now!

What do the words ‘The Financial Freedom to Create’ mean to me?

With this “NO MAD” spirit I try to infuse into NO MAD GALERIE, I still find ways to create with very modest resources. I didn’t wait to have money to do what I wanted: I transformed the concept of gallery to my reality, the economical context, and my convictions… And it’s not working too badly, I’d say! On the other way, naturally I would like to have the financial freedom to do other things, bigger things, because I’m full of ideas and energy ! Maybe one day… but everything in its own time.

Where would I most like to live?

Where I live in fact: in Paris. It’s true that some days I get upset and fed up by this city that can be so stressful… but it’s a love affair that’s lasted 30 years now, and I haven’t yet found a better place to do what I do. And during the summer, I like to move to where I can find sun, beaches, waves, nice people and good mojitos!

What is my most treasured possession?

My family and friends.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I hope people believe that I’m a kind person.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Le Palais de Tokyo. I love this impressive architecture of the 30s. It’s also both a very important cultural center for contemporary art and a very important spot for skateboarding in Paris. I’ve spent so many hours there… two of my passions in the same place, it’s perfect !

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

My friend Grégoire de C. is a great creative chef–not like me! My other friend Alphonse de V. aswell. But if i had to name a restaurant, I would choose Chartier for the simplicity and incredible atmosphere !

What books influenced my life and how?

They are a lot but I would say: L’oeil de Silence – by Marc Lambron (about the life of Lee Miller) Napoléon – by Max Gallo (for the determination and destiny of this historical figure) Mémoires d’outre-tombe – by François-René de Chateaubriand. All those books touched me deeply through the romantic energy of the main characters.

Who are my favorite writers?

François-René de Chateaubriand, Victor Hugo, Guy de Maupassant, Rimbaud, Honoré de Balzac but also Romain Gary, Jean d’Ormesson and Marc Lambron… in English, in a totally different style I would say F. Scott Fitzgerald for the classics, and nowadays the fiction of Stephen King or Terry Hayes .

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? It would depend on my mood at the moment I die… it could be – Les trois petites liturgies de la présence divine – from Olivier Messiaen, if I had a peaceful day, but it could also be a big guitar riff by Mötley Crüe… it would depend on my mood really.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? MacGyver: give him a bogey, he can build a teepee!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

I don’t really have any one hero whom I take as a model. It’s more a case of my seeing what someone has done in a specific situation, or when someone has a really strong determination to accomplish something that I can think this person is a hero… It can be an artist, an athlete or the reaction of someone in a crisis situation. But it can also be someone like you and me, going through a daily routine to feed his family.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

There are so many, I love cinema! OK let’s say Stanley Kubrick’s “Eyes Wide Shut”, and maybe “Un homme et une femme” by Claude Lelouch.

What role does art play in my life and work?

Art is central both in my life and work. I extract my energy and inspiration from the arts (not only visual arts) and from the artists with whom I’m connected by NO MAD GALERIE. By curating contemporary art exhibitions or helping artists making their exhibitions a reality, I feel like I’m taking part in an act of creation in my own way. Next to this main occupation, I do photography and write poetry. You can see this on my tumblr : http://arnaudfaurebeaulieu.tumblr.com/

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My greatest fans are surely my parents and my brother. For the partner in crime… it depends on the crime, but surely Lucas F.

With whom would I like to work in 2017?

At the end of February I will exhibit the young french artist Thomas Van Reghem (link of the press release of the exhibition  for his first solo show at the gallery. I will also showcase Yves Robuschi for his first solo show at the gallery at the end of June. Those two artists are so incredibly talented, that I wanted to organise their exhibitions for a long time, and I’m so happy to get to work with them over the coming months! I’m also excited to be showing new works by other gallery artists like Bakner, Cheyenne Schiavone, Cyprien Chabert, François Machado and Eugénie Bachelot during the YIA fairs in Maastricht (March) and Brussels (April).

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Two or three names among so many others: David Hockney, Giuseppe Penone and Ryan Gander for the young generation.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

22 February-4 March : Thomas Van Reghem Solo exhibition

NO MAD GALERIE / Vitrine-65: 65, rue Notre Dame de Nazareth 75003 Paris (France)

9-12 March : YIA Art Fair #08 Maastricht / GEBOUW M : Tapijnkazerne 15 – 6211 Le Maastricht (The Netherlands)

20-23 April : YIA Art Fair Brussels / LE SQUARE BRUSSELS MEETING CENTER :

Le Mont des arts, Rue Mont des Arts, 1 000 Bruxelles (Belgium)

28 June-8 July : Yves Robuschi solo exhibition

NO MAD GALERIE / Vitrine-65 : 65, rue Notre Dame de Nazareth 75003 Paris (France)

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means that even if I were old as the Eiffel Tower I would still be involved in art, maybe differently, but still involved, it’s a passion…

Which creative heroes should Peter invite to tell their story?

Thomas Van Reghem / Alberto Sorbelli / Cheyenne Schiavone / Olivier Urman / Eugénie Bachelot / Bakner / Yves Robuschi / Hervy-Vaillant / François Machado / Julien Benhamou / Cyprien Chabert… Sorry it’s all my gallery there (except Olivier Urman), but they all have something original to say, trust me. In a different field, the young singers Angelina Wismes and Katherine Mc Donald.

How can you contact me?

nomadgalerie.com contact@nomadgalerie.com Facebook / Instagram Also through my pages, Arnaud Faure Beaulieu, on Facebook and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

