The Hero’s Journey of Gregory Blair

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The communal aspect. Even if I’m writing all alone, the end goal is still to communicate ideas and emotions to other people so they can understand a little more about how we are all more similar than different; that we all can relate and understand each other if we are only willing to listen. You get that more immediately as an actor—especially on stage—but the joy of connecting with someone is the same, regardless. That’s my greatest pleasure.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t think perfection is possible or even preferable; life is a magical, malleable experience. I do think happiness is directly related to peace, though; most people rarely feel happy in turmoil. So perfect happiness would be a state of perfect peace: inner peace, familial peace, communal peace, world peace. Frankly, I appreciate enjoying imperfect happiness regularly.

What is my greatest fear? That the greedy and thoughtless among us will destroy the planet. That cosmic destruction is ineffably horrible to me.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My lack of patience, when it rears up. I can be the most patient person you’ll ever meet…until I’m not. I’m working on that.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I hate to sound typical, but Meryl Streep would be on that list. She has never had to reinvent herself; she just continues to give excellent performances. She can do comedy, drama, musical…be an endearing heroine or an antagonistic wretch. She has the trifecta combination of range, quality of work and staying power.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Seeing things that I wish I had done differently. But I think that’s the curse of any artist: the creative mind is always seeing new options.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Most (if not all) of the experience of happiness is a mindset in your control, so I try to find it in everything I do; I’m not successful every moment, but there has been something happy about all my artistic endeavors. If I had to pick one event, it might be a play I did years ago: the role was a blast and the cast and director were beautiful people; in fact, we’re all still friends. If you can have a role you love and work with people you love, it’s hard not to find happiness.

What do the words ‘The Financial Freedom to Create’ mean to me? I think the take-away I’d want to leave people with is that you can have it many different ways. Most lowbudget indie folks work day jobs to make enough money so that their weekends provide ‘The Financial Freedom to Create’. So don’t look at it as an all-or-nothing concept; then you’ll be waiting forever for it. Like “happiness”: it doesn’t have to be perfect or complete. Just create and enjoy moments when you have it…and make your movie!

What is my most treasured possession? My spouse. Not a really a possession, of course, but definitely the most treasured thing in my life. No material possessions come close.

What is my most marked characteristic? Women seem to notice my eyes a lot, but I think the thing everyone notices is my quirky, animated manner. Some guys are Bulldogs, others are Dobermans…I’m the Chihuahua/Pug mix.

Who are my favorite writers? I’m a lover of tales, not scribes: meaning I might treasure a book by a writer, but not really like their other work. Same for music and any other art form. It’s the works that I fall in love with. Although I did read all of Armistead Maupin’s “Tales of the City”. The first trilogy in that series was fantastic. And I’ve read a lot of Stephen King.

Who are my real life heroes and heroines? My dad, my spouse and anyone being exceptionally kind and/or trying to right social injustices, economic inequity and cruelty to animals or the planet. In short: everyone can be a hero in my book; you have only to do good.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? Koyaanisqatsi. Probably a bit dated, but it’s still brilliant. No words. No plot. But it says volumes about who we are, where we live and what we’re doing. And it’s stunning to watch.

What role art plays in my life and work? Well, it’s an inextricable part of my life; I can’t imagine a life without it. It’s part of how I perceive the world, how I want express things, how I want to make constructive changes.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? If it’s a passion that’s intrinsic to who you are, then it can only burn out when your body gives out. You may take break from actively pursuing it, but the passion remains. So, better to manifest it into the world around you until you leave that world—hopefully a little better and brighter for having done so.

With whom would I like to work in 2017? So far, I’m excited to be slated to work with Felissa Rose (of “Sleepaway Camp” fame). Anyone after that is going to have to be something special. But if Meryl Streep comes calling, that would do it. Ryan Reynolds, Ben Whishaw or Judy Davis would make me lose power of speech as well.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? All of the above, naturally. But, as long as I’m being greedy, let’s add—in no particular order—Ron Howard, Ryan Murphy, Ellen DeGeneres, J.J. Abrams, Hugh Jackman, Bernadette Peters and Stephen Sondheim.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Well, I look forward to all my projects, frankly and there are more coming all the time. I’ll be playing roles in a sci-fi feature called “Abaddon” and a web series called “Henchmen” this Spring. Then in summer I’ll be working on “The Deadly Kind” with Felissa Rose as I mentioned above where we play bickering spouses. I’ll also be prepping for the lead in Chase Dudley’s “Beast of the Field” which shoots next spring.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? My new film, the crazy horror/comedy GARDEN PARTY MASSACRE will start hitting the film festival circuit this year. To get updates for where to find it, a trailer and more, use this link: http://www.GardenPartyMassacreFilm.com or follow us on Facebook or Twitter. To find my slow-burn psychological thriller DEADLY REVISIONS, use this link: http://www.DeadlyRevisionsMovie.com or follow us on Facebook or Twitter. My books are everywhere, including Amazon (http://amzn.to/2nhIdpr). My IMDB is http://www.imdb.me/gregoryblair

How can you contact me? My official webpage (http://bit.ly/1hlhyjO) has a contact link. Or hit me up on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/TheGregoryBlair/) or Twitter (@TheGregoryBlair)

Leave a Reply

