The Hero’s Journey of Nijaz Gojak

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

In 1993, I enrolled in High School of Fine Art in Sarajevo. That was the time of war in Bosnia and Herzegovina and the existance of Bosnian people on these lands was questionable. After the war ended I studied at Academy of Fine Arts in Sarajevo and successfully graduated in the class of Radoslav Tadic.

Best thing in my job is freedom of artistic expression and I experience freedom of art in what I consider important to document and record in any painting technique regardless if it is digital or traditional.

What is my idea of happiness?

My idea of happiness is in freedom. Freedom is biggest gift to the human that possess it. In freedom man feels the best and one should live and die for freedom.

What is my greatest fear?

My biggest fears are questions of existence, material status of life in the world we live in.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

The trait that I most deplore in mysef is naivety and belief that all people are good and wish well.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Art is the gift from God and living persons in my profession that I most admire are all persons that succeeded to live from art and to bestow the fortune of their soul in material expression.

Photo credit: Amar Kustura

What is my greatest extravagance?

I love to paint on big surfaces of the canvas or wall the most. Art is the one that owns universal language that everybody understand.

On what occasion would I lie?

I think lying is bad and I would live only if I had to save someone’s or my own life.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

The thing I don’t like in art is kitsch and plagiarism. Many artists don’t have original access so they steal from other artist and that angers me the most.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I was the happiest in my job in 2017/18 when I was working in National theather’s workshop in Sarajevo as painter and sculptor and there I gave great contribution in scenography of many plays.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would change the haste in my actions because I believe that a person should make decisions in life slowly and thoughtfully.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

The biggest achievment in my work is publishing of my work Mona Lisa in the books for high schools in Brazil named Disciplina: Literatura by author Fernando Marcillo Couto.

Where would I most like to live?

I was born in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina. I think my life is interwoven with Bosnia and Herzegovina and Sarajevo and I wouldn’t feel nowhere else like in my town and my Bosnia.

What is my most treasured possession?

The most valuable thing that I own is the painting The last supper that I painted in technique which relies on neoplasticism and art form of Piet Mondrian.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My most marked characteristic is that I don’t possess fear. I don’t possess fear to paint something or do it digitally. I believe that luck accompanies the brave ones and that is why I love courage.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

My most inspirational location in my city is Old town in Sarajevo, Bascarsija. There I feel the happiest and I feel the presence of older generations of people who have worked on culture for centuries and made us enjoy and be happy now.

What books influenced my life and how?

The books that influenced on my life are primarily books about spirituality, religion and art.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Man must die and only what he leaves behind is good or evil. If I chose what to listen to before my death it would be a call to prayer in Islam.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Heroes in fiction are superheroes in movies such as Superman or Batman and I like to watch them.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My heroes in real life are the heroes that are ready to die for ideals of freedom such as Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King etc.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Movie that I would recommend to see once in a lifetime is Empire of the Sun directed by Steven Spielberg.

What role play stories in my life and work?

The role in my story and the artistic work of life in this world is that there is no surrender. One must never give up and one must always fight. Sometime help will appear in the form of relieving the suffering and pain that man brings with him.

Photo credit: Amar Kustura

What do the words ‘You are the storyteller of your own life’ to me?

“You are the writer of your life story” means that a person has freedom and choice and with the help of intellect and knowledge he should choose the path of life. If the mountain is the goal, metaphorically speaking, everyone doesn’t reach the mountain the same way. Someone gets lost on that road. It is important that you want to work well and move towards the mountain.

Which people or companies would I like to work with in 2022?

People that I would like to work with in 2022 are artists, writers and musicians from Sarajevo, business people that recognize quality of artistic expression.

What project, in 2022, am I looking forward to work on?

Project that I want to work on in 2022 is new tourist offer in Sarajevo in the form of souvenirs primarily intended for tourists and people that come to my hometown.

Where can you see me or my work in 2022?

In 2022 you can see me or my work at new solo art exhibition that I intend to open on 1st March in Sarajevo for the Statehood Day of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

“Passion Never Retires” means that artists never stop creating. Artists should leave their feelings, emotions and message on the screen, in a note or in the frame of a movie to generations after them and make them immortal.

How can you contact me?

You can see my work on Instagram profile goyakart, Nijaz Gojak Sholle or contact me on email: yanijaz@gmail.com

Link to my Instagram profile: https://www.instagram.com/goyakart/?hl=en

Leave a comment